ENGLISH ONLY

Hello again guys!

I found a website where you can do an exercise similar to the one in the book. It will help you to put your ideas in order for your composition.

http://www.tolearnenglish.com/exercises/exercise-english-2/exercise-english-26313.php

Also, you can use these tips. Good luck and happy writing!

YOUR NIGHTMARE JOURNEY

1. Introduction: a) Introduce your anecdote: Probably the worst day I have ever had was when I flew from London to Hong Kong
b) Set the scene (give information about what you where doing, who were you with, what had happened earlier: The flight was leaving at 6am, so I decided to book a room at a hotel near the airport. I was very happy that night so I decided to have a drink at the hotel bar. I stayed there till 3am and thought it was not worth sleeping only a few hours
2. Beginning of the narrative:
Describe what happened to you, what things started to go wrong: But I fell asleep and when I woke up it was nearly 5.30 am . I went out in a hurry but there were no taxis in the street. Suddenly, the airport bus came so I arrived there at 5.45
3. Development of the narrative:
a) Write about what happened next, what else went wrong: Fortunately, the flight had been delayed and I could check-in my luggage. In the end, we had to wait 9 hours at the airport!
b) Add more things that happened to you: Yet, the worst of all was yet to come. Shortly after leaving London, a huge storm started. The plane couldn’t stop bouncing and people were very scared, shouting and crying all over the place! I thought the plane was going to crash!
4. Conclusion:
Write how the story finished and how you and everyone else felt at the end: In the end, we arrived safe in Hong Kong, but I´ll never forget this experience. I was so tired! What a journey!

Don´t forget…

STYLE: A written personal anecdote has similarities with a spoken anecdote: 1) It is told in 1st person and 2) very formal expressions are not used. However, do not use vague language or contractions.

LINKING: TIME LINKERS
Adverbials: Suddenly (I was standing there. Suddenly, I heard a noise), all of a sudden (I was standing there when all of a sudden I heard a noise; , in the end, eventually (Eventually I got back home after a really long journey), at last (I saw my dad coming. At last, I started to feel a bit more relaxed).
Conjunctions: As soon as (As soon as we finished, we went outside to take the car), Just as (Just as we were finishing, there was a terrible storm) while (I arrived while they were having lunch) when (when he arrived I was watching TV) once (once he left the show was no longer the same).

Good luck!!!!

Leave a Reply

